Everyone faces uncertainty.  It’s a fact of life.  Even learning to walk.  We put one foot in front of the other, shift our weight, ever so tentatively lift the other foot and swing it to the front.  Our first step!

After a lifetime of walking, we no longer have uncertainty and we no longer need to think about it.  It happens automatically.  Our skills become more sophisticated over time.  We transition to different speeds – walk, jog, run.  We turn to different directions.  We ascend and descend from different heights.  We even modify what was originally a few basic steps in the walk and match it to the rhythms of music.  We dance.

This Thing Called Life

Walking is a beautiful metaphor for life.  We progress from one place, and move along to a new one.  The point from beginning to end is our journey.  As Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “Life is a journey, not a destination.”

Back to Uncertainty

So, what about that uncertainty?  Why are we constantly faced with it during this journey called life?  How can know that we are making the right choices and that we are not straying from our course? How do we know we won’t stumble?

Expectations for a smooth, level and direct route are naïve.  We will encounter many obstacles.  We just will.  The twists and turns and bumps in the road are what add interest to our journey.  They become our landmarks.  Some are so significant that they can count as a milestone.

Embracing Change

I believe being able to shift uncertainty to a positive experience lies in our ability to embrace change.  It’s not a matter of whether change will occur, it is when. And how.  Let’s face it, life can throw some serious stuff in our path.  We can weep or we can laugh.  Either way we still must confront it.  So why not see it as the change we were meant to encounter?  See the opportunity to learn from the change and erase our uncertainty.  Face it head on.  Face it with a smile.

My Journey

I recently encountered a significant change in my life.  I lost my leg and became an amputee.  At times, I feel uncertain.  Just the same I know I cannot control the change.  I know my journey will be adapted, both literally and figuratively.  I give into the change.  I embrace it.  With that I can become certain.  I trust that I will learn to walk again.  I discover I can be unlimBited.

The Next Step

So, let’s help each other.  Let’s find the path to certainty.  Let’s face the change together.  How will we do that?  It’s something we can discover as we move forward.  In the meantime, know that we can be #unlimBited together.